There is nothing new about everyone’s living situation in Indonesia, I think. We don’t seem to see the end of this pandemic anytime soon, and there’s only anxiety due to uncertainty. To some people, this seems pretty much affect their sleeping cycle as well. I know I am.

Enter Coronasomnia, a sleep disorder that occurs during this COVID-19 pandemic. As a result of increasing stress and may also the lack of social/physical interaction, one can’t sleep as comfortably as they should. I had sleeping problem before, so I’m somewhat used to it, but this feels different somehow; it’s severely unpleasant.

So I’ve been researching some ways to deal with this and I’m considering to change some of my habits.

Create an organized sleep schedule

I like staying up late all night, as I think it’s the best time for me to get creative and be more productive. Which is why I welcomed the night shifts at my previous work. Lately, though, I feel tired and am not that motivated as I’m used to before, but at the same time, I can’t sleep that well. So I’m thinking to try sleep early and work in daytime more, like normal people. I guess people should sleep at least 8 hours top after all.

Work somewhere else

While working from home I read that it’s better not to use bedroom as a place for work. Bedroom is supposedly a safe place, where we can be at peace and relax. Working at bedroom negates that purpose and may impact someone in two ways; either they can no longer separate work life from home life since they are used to work at bedroom, or they can’t be productive and feel like lacking motivation to work since they are supposed to chill at bedroom. I must admit that I take more naps lately and there are times when I really feel highly demotivated to work. I should look for somewhere else at home for work, but then my parents will not let me work in peace. Sigh…

Not taking naps

Exhausted tired businessman with painted eyes on stickers, adhesive notes on face sleeping at workplace, sitting at desk with laptop, unproductive lazy young male dozing, working on difficult project

I think while short nap is often refreshing, it also somewhat disrupts normal sleeping cycle and makes it harder to fall asleep at night. I don’t really understand why nap is more refreshing than sleeping long and comfortably at night, but I figure if I want to sleep well later on, no matter how much tired I am, I shouldn’t take naps. Worth a shot, considering usually I only feel drowsy after I had lunch.

Sunbathe and exercise

Much as I am pro nature and I find myself at ease at the beach, I really don’t like sunbathe or exercise. But I guess, these days, those are more important than ever. Also helps in keeping the body fresh and sleep well later at night apparently, more or less. A friend told me that exercise before going to bed does wonders to sleep. I kinda agree with him, but it’s more because of feeling tired afterwards than relaxed. I hate feeling physically tired, I’m more of a mental player. But having a balanced lifestyle wouldn’t hurt, especially considering my work requires me to sit in front of laptop for hours.

For now, that’s all I’m planning to do. If you have any more suggestion on how to handle pandemic-induced insomnia, please do tell. We all could use a good night sleep especially in times like this.

Also, I could use a trip to the beach.

One may admire your dedication at work,
even if it kills you

Leave a comment

Hello, hello!

want to join brainstorming session?